Disability Categories

  • The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) requires students with disabilities to receive special education and/or related services.

    To be considered a student with a disability under this law, your child must require special education and/or related services because of his or her disability in one or more of the following disability categories:

    • Intellectual disability
    • Hearing impairment
    • Speech or language impairment
    • Visual impairment
    • Emotional disturbance
    • Orthopedic impairment
    • Autism
    • Traumatic brain injury
    • Other health impairment
    • Specific learning disability
    • Deafness
    • Deaf-blindness
    • Multiple disabilities
    • Developmental Delay